top of page

Project and Portfolio IV Reflection

This class provided me with a few challenges that I haven’t faced before. I had to choose from my previous works and expand on it. I am not very proficient at script writing, so I chose a story I am comfortable with. A low fantasy story about a small child that learns what the fairy world is really about. I had to find a way to expand on my character’s story line and give her more of a conflict with the antagonist as well as change the ending to where she survives. After a few peer reviews, I corrected my protagonist and antagonist interactions to be more involved and changed my surprised ending to be clearer and unexpected. I corrected some grammatical errors and expanded my word count from under 2k to over 3k.

I had a few disagreements with some of the reviews I received because it was clear they either didn’t read the story completely or didn’t understand what was written. For example, I saw a few comments about the protagonist entering the fairy realm, this never happened. She ran through her street but never crossed a veil of any sort. This all remained in the real world. I did appreciate the suggestions that developed my story further. Such as my protagonist meeting more characters, having more time with the antagonist, and developing on the antagonist more. I would normally go all out on a story such as this but didn’t want to expand past my word limit.

I may need more help with my story arch. I am not sure how to keep a proper story arch in a short story as much as a long novel. This is something I will look into and learn as I write short stories for my Wordpress.

The McGraw Hill exercises helped me with some of my grammar issues. I always had difficulty with the semicolon and I now understand it better. I need to study my eight parts of speech more in depth than I have and plan to do so later on.

The Lynda videos I was required to watch for this class I will be watching again and taking more notes. This is something I can currently do at work as we are now expanding our social media outreach. I would like to start working as an SEO writer when I first graduate. They are very helpful videos and it’s a shame some of them will be expiring soon.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page